Dearest Eli,

My goodness, my gracious, how time flies when you’re having fun!

I’m not going to lie.  Your baby book looks like a typical second child baby book does: haphazardly filled in, with notes but nothing close to complete.  I guess I need to get a jump on that before your second birthday.  In the interim though, I thought I’d jot down a few notes so I could remember how amazingly awesome you are at this age.

This is when the past 20 months become worth it.  You’ve always had a sweet disposition, but neither Daddy or I are huge “baby” fans.  We like the interaction that started a few months ago and is reaching a new level of awesome from now until… well, I don’t know. At least until you’re 5, I suspect, and probably longer.

At any rate.  Parenting you is such a joy!  You are full of a calm, peaceful energy that sort of brightens the world around you.  You’ve got my dimples and cheeks and your smile can light up a room.  Your energy reminds me a lot of your Daddy –  you’re mostly a solitary creature, but for those close to you it’s an adventure to be in your presence.

I worry, sometimes, because you’re a second child and Mommy guilt sneaks in and tells me that we don’t have enough time  with you one on one, but then you wander over and lay your head on my leg and smile at me and I know that there is love enough, time enough, no matter how busy we get.

You love playing with toys.  You love TV too “TeeVeee pease”, but you also LOVE LOVE LOVE any kind of vehicle.  “Kaaaahs” are frequently called for, as are “tucks!”  Living in a flight path means daily “Paines!” and you’ll even fly the airplane car around and make zoom noises.

Your favorite superhero is the Hulk. Your favorite thing to say is “Hulk! Mash!”

Funny story about that.

You ran around the house yelling “Mush!” for…a while.  Weeks, maybe even months. For the life of us, we could NOT figure out what you were referring to. Mush? Like what you tell dogs in Alaska? Match? Must?

One day, you shook your fist, yelled “MUSH!” and slammed it down. And then it clicked….SMASH. You were trying to say SMASH.

HULK! SMASH!

All of a sudden the previous weeks and months took on a much more hilarious filter.  All the times we thought you were trying to get someone’s attention…you were trying to smash!

So Hulk is your favorite and any superhero that wears green is instantly the Hulk, Sorry Green Lantern, but  you’ve been renamed.

Your favorite thing to do in the mornings is swing on the swing set.

You love food… especially “yummies” (gummy vitamins), “gapes”, chips and carrots. You won’t take anything our of our hands, insisting instead that it be taken to the “tay-bul” and set down.

You despair that we don’t let you have more than a tiny sip of coca cola (not going to lie, so does Papa!)

You wave, blow kisses, love playing patty cake (ake! ake!) and give wonderful hugs.  You come up to me sometimes, tiny fists of fury, “Fite!” (usually followed by “MASH!”). You can swing a sword with painful accuracy but still can’t catch a ball (we practice, though!)

You’re a great helper when it’s time for you to get dressed, and let me know when you need changed (you plug your nose and say TIINKEY!)

You’re exceptional at swimming. Seriously, I’ve never seen a kid take to water the way you did this year.  We spent a LOT of time in the pool, and once you got used to it you quickly learned that you could jump in. So you did. A lot! Fearlessly jumping into the deep end was your favorite thing to do, and we’d let you go down into the water and you’d eventually kick yourself up… it made you so happy! You really did intrinsically know to hold your breathe – it was amazing to watch, and it was a lot of fun this year.

You perpetually have a runny nose August-February.

If you’re trying to find something to eat in the fridge, you cross your arms and say “Hmmm!” then you take your index finger and tap your mouth/nose. It’s incredibly adorable.

You pretend to do the Kamehameha Wave (from Dragonball) and it melts your daddies heart.

You tell the dogs to “hush” if they bark too loudly.

You hate bedtime, and can often be found at 10:30 at night playing in the middle of the floor in the dark. You don’t really fuss about bedtime, you just choose to stay awake through it.

You love reading. In fact, there’s not a lot of stuff you don’t like.  You’re not a huge fan of crowds, and you don’t like Sea World if it’s really crowded (or at all for the first few hours) but once you get warmed up to a situation you’re usually fine.

You’re very adaptable, and I’m thankful.  I’m thankful for your smile, your laughter, and the way you love us.  I’m thankful you’re a mover and a shaker and sometimes a dancer.  I’m thankful that even after a long, exhausting day, I’m guaranteed a few snuggles after bath.

I’m thankful for you, Eli, and I can’t wait to watch you grow.

Love,
Mamamamamama

