Yesterday we really wanted to go eat out with a friend (who we randomly ran into) for dinner but we couldn’t because we hadn’t budgeted for it.  I’m not going to lie, it sucked.  If not for the strength of my husband, I would have caved and put it on a credit card. 

So we didn’t eat out and the credit card was saved that expense.  We went home and ate hamburger helper. And today, when we got paid, I sat down to pay bills saw how much money I had for groceries the next two weeks… and I was thankful my husband talked me out of eating out yesterday. 

See, we are really trying to get our finances under control after all the health issues we had last year.  Rebuild our savings, pay off the credit card (whoops), etc.  It would be much easier if we didn’t have three weddings – two of which I’m an integral part of – and a new dog.  Trust me, I am not complaining, I’m blessed to be a part of this important day for two people I care deeply for.  And the new dog is adorable to watch.  I’m just saying, it’s hard to save money when you want to spend extra money on fun stuff.  Saving money is not fun.  But sparkly things (and things that go ruff! ruff!) are definitely fun.

Luckily, my husband is a strong man who stands by me as I pout about not eating out.  And pout about not buying cute shoes. And pout about not eating steak anymore.  In the long run, he makes my life much, much more rich!

