Do you ever look at your email account and just want to delete everything and start over? I’m really tempted. Is there really a need for me to keep emails from ex-boyfriends? Jokes about past events? Tips and tricks on how to stay alive in a dark alley? And don’t even get me started on the massive amount of emails from Amazon, my old church, bank of america, verizon, myspace, facebook, okcupid and ebay. Not to mention all the places that send me email I don’t want to see. It’s enough to drive a person bonkers!

One of my goals in 2011 is to de-clutter my life. I figure, I might as well start with my email account. After that I might take a look at my rss reader, but let’s not get too crazy! I only subscribe to 57 blogs, and in this day and age I think I’m still fairly conservative with that number. Heaven help me if I ever figure out how to get those crazy podcasts going.

My life is cluttered. Almost everyone I know has a cluttered life. So what do you do about it? You moan and complain. You feel overwhelmed. You put off doing anything about it because it’s too cluttered to make time and space to de-clutter. The cycle continues.

Long ago I promised myself that the madness of clutter would stop. I would learn to throw things away and become a less cluttered person. I’ve taken small steps over the past few years, and this year (regardless of if we buy a house or not) I’d like to push myself even further. I know we spend January making goals, but instead of just making goals why don’t we DO something? Can’t we think of something we can throw away or delete or donate? Can you think of anything? Come on, think of something. If we can all throw away one or two things, our life will INSTANTLY become less cluttered than it was before! That’s pretty great incentive right there.

“Hey, Jennet, what did you do today?”
“Oh, I worked on decluttering my life.”
“Wow, that is so awesome! I wish I could be like you when I grow up!”

Only a slight exaggeration, I’m sure.

Right now I’m thinking of a drawer full of makeup that I haven’t touched in months. I upgraded to some nicer eye shadow, and I rarely use it anyways. I never got the hang of makeup, and I never dated anyone who liked it. I think I’ll go home and throw away that drawer full of makeup. It will make my life a little less cluttered. It’s not a huge drawer, just a small one with a few shades of eyeshadow, some eyeliner, maybe a few outdated types of nail polish. I won’t miss it, and it will be one small step in the right direction.

I dare you to throw something away too. Come back and tell me about it. What are you going to get rid of (it can be something small!) to declutter your life?

