I’m still not feeling the holiday spirit, so I started reading some random Christmas quotes in attempt to find my Christmas spirit. I learned in the process that my Christmas spirit is firmly entrenched in the past and not ready to come back to reality. You’ll have to forgive it. It’s had a rough few years. Despite feeling kind of grumpy about the end of the year I’m definitely enjoying this time with Benjamin. He doesn’t understand what’s going on, of course, but he likes the tree and the lights and the new fun toys. And since I’m not feeling up to telling you about how great the holidays are, I figured I could share some of the quotes about today that I liked. The cynical part of me doesn’t really agree with them, but I’m trying.

“I am not alone at all, I thought. I was never alone at all. And that, of course, is the message of Christmas. We are never alone. Not when the night is darkest, the wind coldest, the world seemingly most indifferent. For this is still the time God chooses.”
Taylor Caldwell

“Blessed is the season which engages the whole world in a conspiracy of love!”
Hamilton Wright Mabie

“Christmas, my child, is love in action. Every time we love, every time we give, it’s Christmas.”
Dale Evans Rogers

“I will honor Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all year.”
Charles Dickens

“Christmas in Bethlehem. The ancient dream: a cold, clear night made brilliant by a glorious star, the smell of incense, shepherds and wise men falling to their knees in adoration of the sweet baby, the incarnation of perfect love.”
Lucinda Franks

I sometimes think we expect too much of Christmas Day. We try to crowd into it the long arrears of kindliness and humanity of the whole year. As for me, I like to take my Christmas a little at a time, all through the year. And thus I drift along into the holidays – let them overtake me unexpectedly – waking up some find morning and suddenly saying to myself: “Why, this is Christmas Day!”
David Grayson

And in despair I bowed my head:
“There is no peace on earth,” I said,
“For hate is strong and mocks the song
Of peace on earth, good will to men.”
Then pealed the bells more loud and deep:
“God is not dead, nor doth he sleep;
The wrong shall fail, the right prevail,
With peace on earth, good will to men.”
Till, ringing singing, on its way,
The world revolved from night to day,
A voice, a chime, a chant sublime,
Of peace on earth, good will to men!
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

