This is one of my long weeks, the week I work 12 hour shifts on Monday, Tuesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday and oh yeah, 4 hours on Thursday. This week was extra “special” because I had training on Tuesday and meetings to go to on Wednesday AND Thursday. Oi. I’ve still got two 12 hour shifts left before the end of this week and man, I can’t wait. The only good thing about this week is that next week I ONLY work Wednesday and 4 hours on Thursday. Those weeks, the weeks that I can feel mostly human, they’re worth it.

Justin and I have been house-hunting which is a crazy stressful thing that I might not have undertaken had I realized how impossibly picky we are. We refused to buy a house we generally liked because the downstairs half-bath was just off the kitchen and I was mortified at the idea of the men in the house stinking it up that close to the kitchen. Which is actually a pretty reasonable fear. Especially if you know my boys! We really want to buy a house in Cedar Park, the problem is that most of the ones that meet our requirements (pool table room, 4 bedrooms, big backyard) are juuuust out of reasonable budget for us. So maybe Austin or Leander. We’re going to look at a house on Sunday that I have high hopes for. It’s 5 houses away from the neighborhood pool and let me tell you, I would love that. So would Benjamin!

Speaking of Benjamin. How did I help make something so cute? He talks up a storm (whoops, my bad) and loves loves loves to jump and bounce. He’ll be 6 months this Wednesday. I can’t believe that he’s halfway to 1 year old. I can’t believe I’ve been a parent for 6 months! He screams at me sometimes, usually when I’m not feeding him oatmeal fast enough, and I wonder if he is giving me attitude or just telling me to hurry? Should I yell at him? When do I start punishing him so that he doesn’t turn into a brat? I’m in favor of discipline, but how much and when?

Justin is really starting to have fun with Benjamin which is pretty much the greatest thing ever. I’m really enjoying this stage where everything is still so new, but I also want to help him learn to go go go! So that I can tell him to stop stop stop!

I’m reading a book called Fierce Conversations. There’s a quote in it by Annie Dillard: “How we spend our days is how we spend our lives.”

Just think about that for a minute.

I read a great article yesterday about how email has taken over our lives. It makes me want to throw my cell phone out the window. Maybe one day I’ll get there, but that day is probably not today.

It’s the end of the year. I traditionally recap, and have every intention of doing it again this year. It’s tougher to get started this year though. Maybe tomorrow.

