I’m so in love with this kid.  He’s adorable and slightly funny looking (come on, he’s an infant, you’re all thinking it!) and when he sort of smiles I kind of melt inside.

I’m very tired, but not nearly as tired as I expected to be.  I still have energy to go out and do things, and have been since he was 3 days old.  Not too much, mind you.  But a little.

His schedule was completely backwards the first few days, but we’ve got him mostly awake at daytime and mostly sleepy at nighttime, so that’s been great.  Nursing was a nightmare the first week and had to supplement with formula (due to him losing too much weight from refusing to nurse and his slightly increased jaundice) but we’ve finally reached formula-free status.

Yesterday was pretty rough; he was hungry ALL DAY LONG. No matter how much I nursed he still wanted to eat… it was incredibly frustrating because he wasn’t getting much from me (you can only milk a cow so much, ya know?) and he obviously still wanted more.  Hopefully all his angry nursing leads to an increased milk supply in the next few days!  He fussed and fussed and then slept through my friend Kandy’s Jewelry party (go Benjamin, let Mommy have a fun time with her friends!) and then after a brief nap after that he was up for several more hours fussing.  Then around 1am he passed out, woke up at 5:30 to nurse, went back to sleep, woke up at 7:30 to nurse, went back to sleep, woke up at 10:00 to nurse and now he’s back asleep again.  Not sure how long this is going to continue, but after yesterday I’m glad for the break!

Anyways.  So far stuff has been amazing.  Parenthood is pretty great and my husband is a great dad (not that I had any doubt).  I’m also working on my birth story; I’ll be posting it on here eventually.  I’ll probably not post it on the main page; some of the details are kind of, well, details about birth, and I would hate to scar anyone.  So keep an eye out for that – it should be up today unless Benjamin wakes up soon and stays up all day!! 🙂

