I know that there are a billion ways to make rice krispie treats, and a billion recipes online.  However, none of them were exactly like my Mom’s recipe so I recreated it by memory.  I think I’ve achieved pretty close to the perfect rice krispie.  It’s not Kraft, it’s not from the back of the cereal box, but it is a combination and then some. So for those of you who like these types of unhealthy food (and really, who doesn’t?) then read on!

Rice Krispie Treats
1 stick of butter
1 bag of large marshmallows
1 7 oz. jar of marshmallow creme
1/2 tbsp vanilla extract (or vanilla powder)
12 cups of rice krispies

Melt the butter SLOWLY in a large pot.  I recommend using a large, nonstick spoon for the stirring. While this is going on, go ahead and measure your 12 cups of rice krispies into a bowl.  Trust me, you won’t want to do this at the end!

Add the large marshmallows when the butter is almost all the way melted.  Stir often.

With the spoon that is coated in butter and marshmallow, scoop out the marshmallow creme out of the jar and into the melting concoction of yummy.

Add vanilla just before the marshmallow is all melted together.

As the last tiny marshmallow melts away, take the pan off the heat and dump the 12 cups of rice krispies into the pan.  Stir until all the rice krispies are coated.

Spread evenly into a well-greased 9x13x2 pan (or similar size).  Now when I was a child, Mom used to coat my hands with butter so I could smash down and even out the rice krispies.  Now I just give my hands a spritz with non-stick spray and pat the rice krispies down.  Either way works, and one has less calories added in.  If you don’t coat your hands with some sort of non-stick substance then you’ll end up with marshmallow all over your hands and you’ll be wearing most of your rice krispies.

I like to let it cool down outside of the fridge and then cut them while still somewhat malleable.  Enjoy!

