29 weeks pregnant today, woooohoooo!!

Three hour gestational diabetes testing tomorrow morning, booooo!!!!

But really, if the only major problem I have during this pregnancy is gestational diabetes then I won’t be able to complain too much.

My blood sugar on my one hour was pretty high. They want to see it under 140, and after an hour it was 165. Ouch.

I can tell you what part of the problem is. Part of the problem has been my drastic change in dietary habits. I hardly ever eat meat anymore, and if I do it’s a minor part of a meal (for instance, Italian sausage in spaghetti or ground beef in tacos or the bacon in a BLT). It wouldn’t be completely accurate to say all meat makes me sick – chicken does – I can’t even stand the smell of it. But it’s more like I have lost any desire whatsoever to partake in meat. The idea of a steak is something that I can identify that I used to enjoy, but currently would not. So I’m just about as close to vegetarian as I’ve ever been in my life.

So, I’ve been eating more veggies and fruits and grains. And if I’m completely honest with you: more fruits and grains than veggies. And what do fruits and grains do? Raise your blood sugar.

So it’s not surprising that I’m having the diabetes issue, but it is frustrating. I’ve already had issues finding food to eat, and you’re telling me the foods I have been eating I can’t?! Sheesh.

If the three hour test comes back positive then I’ll start experimenting, see what raises my blood sugar too much and what doesn’t. I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to get away with my 100% whole grain bagels and cream cheese, but maybe not my easy mac? We will have to see. I can’t have the glass or orange juice at the end of the day, but maybe I can have an orange with breakfast? I’m not stressing it out, except that to fail at diet control is to give up my birth at the birthing center, and I don’t want to do that. Ideally I’d like to just pass the 3 hour, but I’m 99.9% sure that I won’t.

On to other matters…

I got a TON of stuff done in Benjamin’s room. Which is to say it still looks like a complete disaster area, but I sorted through all the stuff in the closet, assembled the 9-cube closetmaid cubicals and got all the clothes that have been given to us so far in the closet. They’re organized in 2 different areas by size, which is good enough for me for now.

The thing I did that I’m the most proud of in his room actually has little to do with him and everything to do with me. You see, I sorted through my old stuffed animals. I had a huge box, and I sorted through them and I only kept a few.

Saying goodbye to some of those stuffed animals (like the teddy bear I’ve had since my first Christmas) was ridiculously hard, but wouldn’t have been possible two years ago. I’m not sure what changed, but I do have a few theories. My husband and his hatred of clutter had something to do with it. But most of all I think it was seeing my parent’s house and the massive amount of junk they had kept throughout the years. I vividly remember sitting in my parent’s master bedroom with a pile of junk around me just a week or two after they died. I remember being angry at them for having birth certificates next to the bed in the same pile as current bills. After we’d discovered two bottles containing every single tooth us 5 kids lost growing up (seriously, it was pretty gross) I swore to my sisters that the madness of hoarding would stop there.

I’m realizing more and more that I’ve been a mini-hoarder in my own ways for years. I never had it to the same extent my parents did (and they didn’t have it to an extent that would have qualified them for the crazy depressing TV show), but I have no doubt if things were different I could have gone down the same path. Every time I throw away something else that I’ve held on to for years I’m letting go of some of that hoarding mentality. The stuffed animals were a pretty big step. Probably the biggest yet.

So the stuffed animals are sorted, Benjamin and any visitor children to my home have a makeshift toy box, I’m making great leaps and bounds in my crazy and I’m slowly but surely making my house a home fit for a baby. My belly is getting rounder and my ankles aren’t swollen yet. Life is good.

