This has been a good week, and today is the first day of my 2 week vacation. Happy!

Staying off of Twitter and Facebook and email on my phone has been… interesting.  Odd, definitely.  I find that so much happens that I want to tell the world, but in the grand scheme of things is essentially meaningless.  Some of it would have been great to share, though.  Like how I had a great appointment with my midwife on Tuesday, how Benjamin (formerly known as Porkchop) is growing big and and still has a strong heartbeat!  It’s so exciting to be pregnant with our child, but it’s also so WEIRD.  No one really told me how weird it would be.

I’ve been enjoying reading all the great books my cousin loaned me on birth and labor and breastfeeding.  It’s so much information to absorb, but so much of it is good to be aware of.  I like feeling that I’ll be educated about birth even though I won’t know how my exact birth will go, at least I’ll be aware of the basics of what will happen.  I think that will help ease a lot of anxiety.

Anyways.  Vacation stuff! Yay! We’re hopefully going to Oklahoma and Tennessee.  Oklahoma to visit my brother Alan, his wife Mandy and their son Ethan.  We’ll spend a day or two there, then head to Tennessee to see Justin’s family!  His grandparents are celebrating 50 years of marriage! 50 years! That’s incredible.  I can’t imagine spending 50 years (willingly or otherwise) with someone, but they’ve done it with class.  It will be great to visit with all of his family (especially his Mom and Dad, who I adore!) and it will be awesome to be there to celebrate with his grandparents.  I’m really looking forward to it!

I’m really hoping Justin and I will get to spend some time by ourselves on a little mini retreat.  I’d like to go to the mountains, but with the weather I don’t know if we’ll be able to.  We’ll pretty much be playing things by ear, and I’ll hopefully be taking lots of great pictures along the way.

