Self-reflection:

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Surviving.  No, really.

What was your biggest failure?
I’m giving myself a pass this year.  But, luckily, I didn’t do too many bad things.  I think.

Did you suffer illness or injury?
Goodness yes.  Justin and I were SICK this year like we have never been sick before.  We spent a good part of January sick, Justin had pneumonia and I had some lesser form of whatever he had, I had sinus infections in February, March and May, developed a cough in September that wouldn’t go away, my entire house got Swine flu in October, and Justin has had a headache since September.  Did I mention that 2009 was the WORST YEAR EVER?

Where did most of your money go?
Well, this was an odd year for money because my parents died and we got a bit of money – not much, mind you, but enough to pay off our debt.  So most of our money did that, we were blessed by being able to tithe a lot this year, and we did get a few gadgets and goodies around the house.

What kept you sane?
Knowing that this too shall pass.

What political issue stirred you the most?
Honestly, I don’t care what the heck they do anymore.  I have so many other things in my life that take priority.

Who did you miss?
My mom and dad.  With a fierceness that will not pass for some time, I think.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
2010.

Compared to this time last year, are you:
I. happier or sadder? Sadder.  Hopeful about the future, but sadder.
ii. thinner or fatter? Err, before I was pregnant I was thinner!  I’ve been working out and while I’m still fat, I’m definitely in better shape than I was last year.
iii. richer or poorer? Richer! Debt free and money in a savings account.  It was my parents last gift to me, I think.

Did you fall in love in 2009?
Over and over and over again.  I seriously can not put into words how amazingly blessed I am in my husband.  I won’t even try, because everything falls short.  God has blessed my life by his presence.

Did you lose anything important this year?
A future that included my parents.

What was your proudest moment of 2009?
Getting up to give the eulogy for my parents.  It was so hard, but I am so glad I did it.

What was your most embarrassing moment of 2009?
Losing it in the Verizon Wireless store.  It was right after mom and dad died, closing their accounts was one of the first things I did for the estate.  I started hysterically crying about halfway through the visit, sobbed on my way out the door.  In hindsight it was pretty funny – I’m pretty sure I traumatized the poor clerk.

Gauge your:
(On a scale of: Very Good, Good, Fairly Good, Fairly Bad, Bad, Very Bad)

  • Relational Health – Very Good
  • Emotional Health – Fairly Good
  • Physical Health – Fairly Good
  • Social Health – Fairly Good
  • Spiritual Health – Fairly Good
  • Intellectual Health – Good
  • Financial Health – Very Good

In the future:

How will you be spending Christmas?
Well, this is the past because I’m lazy, but I spent it with my family in Houston.  It was a good time, and it was nice to relax and have fun and play rock band with my younger cousins.

How will you be spending New Years?
Sleeping.  Praying for 2010.

What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
Peace, and I would like to be witness to more life, and less death.

What are your plans for 2010?
Keep saving money, have a baby, visit California with said baby, hopefully get on a work schedule that lets us not use childcare, get back on track with eating healthy, help people around me, draw closer to God.

Will you make any new years resolutions for 2010?
No.  Making it through 2010 will be enough for me!

