Yesterday I got an ultrasound with my husband by my side. And I realized, lying there on the table, covered in goop, with my husband holding my hand, that there are some moments that can’t be adequately put into words. Some things have to be experienced. They can’t be described; they can’t be lowered to the mortal world of words. I can tell you how amazing it was to see the kiddo moving around in my belly. I can tell you how tickled pink we were when we saw the whole thing moving around and it looked like it was doing the Running Man. I can tell you that hearing my husband breathlessly say “Awesome” made me feel awesome.

But all of that is just a drop in the bucket to how you actually feel when you are sitting there looking at the life you’ve helped create. The midwife took 2 pictures to give us, one of which clearly shows the face of the baby – it’s looking right at screen when she took the picture. I almost feel like the baby was looking at me, saying hi.

I can’t really describe how that makes me feel. Amazing and grateful and anxious and happy and excited and… so many emotions all happily jumbled together.

Today, I am thankful for yesterday.

