Yesterday my DH asked me to make meatloaf for him.  I hadn’t ever really been happy with prior meatloaf attempts, but since I’ve been baking and cooking more recently I decided to give it another shot.  One of the main problems I had was that I don’t particularly like ketchup. In fact, it’s probably my least favorite condiments.

But yesterday I took a recipe my cousin sent me from cooking light, took the advice of my friend Leslie and tried a tomato sauce instead (used one from Heidi over at 101 cookbooks), and combined it all for a meatloaf that my husband described as “amazing.”  So, even though I can’t claim the individual pieces mine I suppose I can claim this as my creation. I call it ketchup-free meatloaf because, well, it’s ketchup free!

Sauce:
6 cloves of garlic chopped up all nice and pretty
A sprinkle of Italian seasoning
Dash of red pepper flakes (Seriously. Don’t overdo this.)
Salt, pepper to taste
3tbsp grapeseed oil
28 oz can of crushed tomatoes

Put everything except the crushed tomatoes in a saucepan.  Sautee until the garlic starts to brown (or however much you like it) and then add the crushed tomatoes in it.  Mix it well, heat, etc, etc.  Turn off the heat.

For the meatloaf itself:
2 cups chopped onion
8 oz mozzarella
4 oz parmesan
1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
1/2 cup of the previously made sauce
sprinkle of dried oregano
3/4 cup bread crumbs (plain or seasoned, I used plain)
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
3 lbs meat of choice (I used ground beef, yum!)

Sautee onion in a bit of oil, then add the other ingredients and mix well. Spray 2 bread pans with cooking spray, then dump the mess of wonderfulness into the 2 pans.  Cover with a few spoons of the sauce, then bake at 375 for 1 hour.  When you take it out of the oven let it sit for about 10 minutes to marinate.  Keep in mind that you can’t drain the grease per say, so I recommend the extra lean stuff – around 97% at least.

When you get it out and cut a piece you should have extra sauce to drizzle on top. Yummm.  We ate it with sauteed zucchini and squash. Tast-ee!

If anyone tries this, let me know! I’d love to hear how it worked for you! 🙂

