While this has been one of the worst years of my life, it has also had a few good things going on dispersed amongst the tragedy. I’m generally a positive person so any chance I have to embrace the positive is good in my book. So, on to the good news: we have been making pretty good progress with our debt this year! Yay! Let there be much rejoicing in the streets! It’s not as much progress as I would have liked, and more than I honestly expected… and in a year like this I can’t do much other than be thankful I’m able to make any progress at all.

I’m still quite terrible at budgeting. I can never figure our expenses. I’m not sure why, I use mint.com for my money-tracking and it’s pretty cut and dried… but nevertheless I always undershoot or overshoot how much I’m going to spend at any particular time. I’m getting a bit better at it – and with Mint I have several months to analyze. So maybe one day I’ll get it figured out. Until then I’ll keep doing what I’m doing because it seems to work. And without further ado, a very impersonal list of my debt. Because we all know that the more personal information you have to share, the more honest you are. Right? Sort of.

May:
My BofA Card
Payment: $40.00
Applied to principal: $300.00
Remaining balance: $1,000.00

Justin’s BofA Card
Payment: $79.00
Applied to principal: $40.00
Remaining balance: $1438.66

Prosper Loan
Payment: $242.00
Applied to principal: $197.56
Remaining balance: $2,395.29

Netbank Card
Payment: $94.00
Applied to principal: $28.17
Remaining balance: $2,551.36

Total debt in January: $10,856.65

Total debt in May: $7,385.31

A difference of: $3,471.34

And there was much rejoicing. Yaaay.

