About 3 weeks ago Justin and I were talking about going through all of our “stuff” an getting rid of a bunch of it.  Call it spring cleaning if you want, but we were planning on a yard sale and thought we could get rid of a bunch of stuff we never use.

Then my parents died, and I inherited the majority of their stuff simply because I’m the closest child with the most room in their house.

Lucky me.

Justin thought we had too much stuff before, and now we’re completely overwhelmed in the house.  To be fair, a LOT of the stuff at the house is stuff that simply needs to be sorted: stuff for Jean, stuff for Jennifer, stuff for Alan, etc.  Stuff to sell. Stuff to keep. Stuff to throw away.

We now have an extra set of couches (love seat and couch) along with a dining room table and chairs.  If you know someone in Austin or Houston area who needs used furniture, drop me a line.

I’ve said many many times that we are going to stop the cycle of madness in keeping EVERYTHING – it seems my parents kept receipts, pharmacy orders and tax returns off and on since the 70s.  No, not joking.  But some of the stuff they kept has come in handy.  It’s been GREAT therapy to read back on all the cards we wrote them when we were kids, and see the notes they wrote for each other.  But they kept every piece of it, and now that I’m going through it I’m only keeping about 1/3 of the stuff.  I’m going to have to sort through all this stuff and figure out what is important enough to keep.

Trying to relax is harder when your house is full of boxes of “stuff”.  It’s kind of a good parallel for how my brain feels right now.  Reading some therapeutic books and working on slowly getting through this.  It’s going to be a long journey, but I’m hopeful I’ll come out on the other side a stronger person.

Really, at this point, that’s all I can hope for.

