I’m a big wannabe. I wannabe a writer. I wannabe a knitter, a crotcheter, a stitcher, a sewer, a baker, a candlestick maker, a photographer, a potter, a painter, a cake-maker, an artist, a mechanic, a jewelry maker, a chef, a poet… I could keep going, but you get the point.

I have, at some point in my life, invested money in almost every one of these “hobbies” with the full intention of becoming wonderful at it so I can make things I love myself instead of buying them from others. Sometimes this works out: I know simple basics of jewelry making, I can cross stitch… I’m acceptable in the kitchen. But more often than not my dreams of crocheting end up knotted on the ground and my jewelry making tools stay in their hobby box for years, forgotten.

This is a problem, you see, because I’ve been sitting here the last 2 hours trying to decide if I wanted to learn to crochet (tried once: failed) or learn to knit. Forget the fact that I’m following a budget this year, forget the fact that I don’t have time to play my favorite video games much less get a new hobby… I was seriously trying to think of which one I wanted to do. And what book I would try this time. And how I’d pay for it. And what great stuff I could make! Oh! Lets look up PATTERNS!~

It’s a sickness. “Hobby wannabe” addicts anonymous, here I come!

Whenever I go training classes for work we all have to state our name, agency, years of service, and some hobby we have. Do you know what I usually say? Sleeping or playing video games, and then I feel horrible about it for the next 20 minutes. If I had a hobby, I’d think, I could impress people with that.

I think a lot of this stems from youthful jealousy at my sisters Jean, who excelled at every artistic thing she touched, and Jennifer, who could beautify even the ugliest people with makeup and curlers. That’s not really fair to them though, because I’m sure they were jealous that I graduated early and was always referred to as the “smart one.”

But there is a little bit more to it, too. I love helping people out, and it’d be much easier to give someone a blanket if all I had to buy was the yarn for it. I much prefer giving and receiving handmade items over store-bought. Soon I’ll have children of my own, and since my husband and I have decided that happiness is more important that money we’ll always be watching our budget. So penny-pinching is important and I’ve always thought you could save money by sewing things at home instead of buying them.

My main problem is that I want to learn everything. Even as I’m learning to bake bread I think hey, I should get back into cross stitching. And as I’m cross stitching hey, I should really learn how to sew for real.

Does anyone else have this problem?

The older I get the more I think I really do need to learn a few skills. If nothing else, basic sewing skills would be good. I might never make my own shirt but if I can learn how to hem pants or fix a hole in a sweater… that might be good stuff to know.

Maybe I’ll look into that. Right after I get done learning more about how to make a good homemade BBQ sauce.

