I’ve realized that self-reflection is a lot like vegetables. Tough to deal with sometimes, but ultimately good for you.  I always try to take this part seriously and really try to pull something out of it.  I hope you can take a few minutes out of your day to reflect on your life the past year. It’s been a pretty intense year for a lot of people – layoffs, budget cuts, staffing shortages… extra stress all around.  And yet we are surviving, we are still here and we are not (yet) in soup lines. Hope exists – and not the type promised by politicians, but real hope in our humanity and in our faith.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
I’m proud of Justin and I for letting Jake and Cory live with us despite a lot of people who said it was a bad idea. We really had to look honestly at our priorities and see if the possible risks were worth the possible reward. We had to consider where family ranked in our priorities. Sometimes it’s harder to have roommates than other times, but I honestly believe that it’s better for them to be here than anywhere else.

What was your biggest failure?
We all fail in different ways and I know its part of being human. Not sure I could pinpoint the “biggest” – I think my biggest failure was that there were so many small failures.

Did you suffer illness or injury?
Sprained my ankle a time or two and bruised my knuckles pretty good. Other than that I think I was OK.

Where did most of your money go?
Getting the house and supporting Cory and Jake while they moved in/found jobs.

What kept you sane?
Justin.

What political issue stirred you the most?
The Auto bailout. I can accept the bank bailout but this auto bailout just makes me furious.

Who did you miss?
Amy. We try to see each other at least once a year but it doesn’t always work.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Justin and I dressing up as Pirate/Ninja for Halloween.

Compared to this time last year, are you:
I. happier or sadder? I think happier, but my life requires more work and I don’t know if I like that. I’m more satisfied than I was a year ago, happier about the position I’m in, but I don’t know if overall I could say I’m happier.
ii. thinner or fatter? Fatter, but I fluctuated a LOT this year. I was down 30, up 20, etc. I’m a little heavier than last year, but I am DESPERATE to change that this year. I can’t keep being unhealthy like this.
iii. richer or poorer? Richer! Well, if you consider the fact that I am in less debt than I was last year. Still don’t have a lot saved up, but we are making progress!!

Did you fall in love in 2008?
Over and over and over again.

Did you lose anything important this year?
YES! I lost picture files from the police and fire department baseball game! I am still upset about that. I must have deleted the card thinking they were already on the computer.

What was your proudest moment of 2008?
Helping people at work.

What was your most embarrassing moment of 2008?
Not knowing the words to “Jingle Bell Rock” when put on the spot – even though I sing it ALL THE TIME.

Gauge your:
(On a scale of: Very Good, Good, Fairly Good, Fairly Bad, Bad, Very Bad)

  • Relational Health – Very Good
  • Emotional Health – Good
  • Physical Health – Bad
  • Social Health – Fairly Good
  • Spiritual Health – Fairly Good
  • Intellectual Health – Good
  • Financial Health – Fairly Bad

Go back and read part 1, 2, 3, 4, or go the next page 6, or skip ahead to  7!

