Part 3 of my yearly review – there should be 7 sections in total so only 4 more to go!  Today we’re talking about the “others” in my life.  It’s a bit of a shorter section, so I was able to spend a little more time on each answer. Tomorrow you can look forward to my list of favorites/least favorites for 2008.  Enjoy!

Whose behavior merited celebration?
The staff of Legacy for making us feel so welcome and loved. You’ll hear me talk about them pretty often and I don’t want them to think that I’m lifting them up on a pedestal – after all, I know they’re just humans and liable to make mistakes like the rest of us. But after having been to churches where I’m not loved, and not accepted, coming to a church where the staff indiscriminately loves people has been a breath of fresh air. I’m not saying this is the only good church in the Austin/Cedar Park area…but it is definitely the one that I have found the most love and acceptance at.

The people here genuinely love Christ and strive to be more Christ-like – and they do it without sacrificing their humanity. They’re still passionate about “normal” things – football, and photography and being creative – but in all of their earthly passions I see a lot of Christ in them. It’s great to see people realistically trying to be Christ-like. Christ didn’t spend 100% of his time evangelizing – he spent 100% of his time being approachable and loving people and IN THAT approachableness and love… he evangelized. I’m sure we all fail at doing that – even my pastor – but the important thing is that when we do fail, we get back up & dust ourselves off to try again. It’s great to be with a group of people who are striving to be like Christ – because I want to be more like Christ, and having people to work at it with is a great thing.

Whose behavior made you appalled, depressed, or sad?
I don’t think I was any of those things, but I would be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed in my younger brother for getting his ex-girlfriend pregnant. If I have to be honest (and I do) it makes me sad that he spent so much time making bad choices and as soon as he gets BACK into church and starts trying to get his life together he finds out that he’ll have to put his life on hold for the next 18 years or so to take care of a child. We have several relatives who made bad decisions when they had kids out of wedlock – not paying child support, not being there for the kids – and I just hope that he makes better decisions. I know that God has a plan, and that all things can be used to glorify him, I just look at my baby brother and hope that this plan includes helping him buy diapers!

But really, I love my brother and I’m a little disappointed – but also a little jealous. I wanted to have kids before him, dang it! At the rate I’m going, I’m only going to beat out my youngest sister – every other sibling (I have 6 of them, 7 in all) has at least one kid already. Oh well. I am enjoying my marriage for now, so it’s all good 🙂

Did somebody treat you badly in 2008?
I have a hard time answering this question because I have to think of myself as a victim and someone else as an aggressor. In most cases when my feelings are hurt I’m the type for immediately forgive them or assume they’re just taking out their problems on me. In general, though, I can’t think of anything that anyone did to be spiteful or mean on purpose. Sure, my feelings were hurt every once in a while. Sure, things were said about me that I didn’t like to hear (but sometimes needed to hear!). But overall I would have to say no, I am relatively abuse-free.

Who were some new people you met?
Oh, gosh, I can’t even begin to make a list. SO many new people this year. Everyone at church and all the people on twitter, not to mention all the new employees at work. It was definitely a year of trying to remember names.

Go back and read part 1 or 2, or go the next page  4, or skip ahead to 5, 6, or 7!

