Every December I like to review the previous years adventures, mishaps, trials and triumphs (HERE is 2007, if you’re so inclined).  It usually takes me about a week to fully finish my reviews and at the end I’m left with something I can revisit in the future to “remember” a particular year. Do you remember what happened in 2004? I can look back at my blog and know that 2004 was the year that Six Flags came out with that ridiculous old man dancing to “We Like to Party” by the Venga Boys (youtube). I *loved* that song! It’s also the year I met my friend Billy and the year I took a cruise.

But more important than remembering that ‘the vengabus is coming’ is the time of reflection I get. I’m able to look back on the good and bad things throughout the year… and I also have a great opportunity to reflect on the coming year. I don’t always like to focus on the past or the present, but I believe it is important to set aside some time to do just that.  My time is in December, around Christmas.

This year I’ve split the questions up into categories and I’ll post the categories one at a time.  I highly recommend everyone following something similar – you don’t have to do it publicly and you don’t have to do it in the same way I did – but take some time to reflect.  It does wonders.

So! Without further adieu, today’s category is the initial summary – a overview, if you will.  We’ll get to the nitty gritty tomorrow.

Where were you when 2008 began?
Sleeping. I’m pretty boring most times, but I actually had an excuse: I was switching my schedule over from night shift to day shift… so I really needed to be sleeping at midnight. Bummer!

Who were you with?
Justin.

Was 2008 a good year for you?
It was a challenging year. There were lots of new things in my life that added stress. Overall though, yes, it was a good year.

What countries/states did you visit?
Tennessee, Mississippi & Florida. We drove through a few others but I don’t count ones I didn’t spend a good amount of time in.

Did you keep your new years’ resolutions?
I don’t think I kept any news years’ resolutions. I don’t think I made any real ones though. Not officially, anyways.

Did anyone close to you give birth?
My sister Jean had her son Nathaniel. That makes 2 for her!

Did anyone close to you die?
No, I have been VERY blessed.

What date from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
I don’t know if it will remain there “forever” but our first visit to Legacy was July 27th of 2008.

Read on with part 2, or skip ahead to parts 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7!

